Analysing Page Personalisation and Customisation in Business Central

In Business Central, users have the ability to both personalise pages on behalf of themselves, and customise pages on behalf of a role. A role, like ‘Warehouse Employee’ or ‘Sales Order Processor’, would typically reflect a standardised configuration for multiple people. After assigning someone a customised role, users can still personalise pages. However, using permissions, you can prohibit access to pages, or prevent particular actions from being done. But if you aren’t limiting access at this level, you can instead view and alter the personalised or customised pages users have.

User Settings

In the User Settings page, there’ll be a list of all the users who have access to the system. If you click into one of the user records, you will be able to see a host of different things. Firstly, you can see their default Company field, something which we spoke about in another recent blog. To see what this does, click here. In addition to this, we can see the role of the user. Typically, this would be configured by the administrator at the point of go-live on Business Central. However, with any retrospective changes, employee additions or role changes, you can make amendments here.

If you click into the ‘More options’ and ‘Related’ buttons, you will be able to see the personalised pages. To clarify, when you click on the settings cog in the top right-hand side corner, followed by ‘Personalise’, any changes you make will be on behalf of your user.

Here you can see a list of every single page personalisation I have done on behalf of my user, in the system.

You can run a Troubleshoot action to test whether any of the personalisation’s have a negative effect on performance. For me personally, this has never detected any issues.

Customised pages

You can ‘customise’ a page by personalising a page on behalf of a role in the system. To do this, go to the ‘Profiles (Roles)’ page and click into one of the record lines. Next, click ‘Customise pages’. From here, navigate your way around the system and make any necessary changes to a role’s appearance in the system. After you are done, click ‘Done’ in the top right-hand side corner. It will instruct you to close the customisation tab that opens after you start customising. Your changes will now take effect for users with that role. You may have to refresh the page.

On the User Settings page, we can see the changes in a list view. Click ‘Related’ and ‘Manage Customised Pages’. It’s important to notice the Profile ID field. The reason this is important is that values will only appear in this screen if they correspond with the role your user is currently set as. For example, if I make a change to the Sales Order Processor role whilst I am currently a Business Manager, I won’t be able to see the changes until I amend my role to match that where the changes took place.

In the image below, notice how the changes I made for the Business Manager role don’t show. This is because I have since set my role to be Sales Order Processor.

Closing remarks

Thanks for reading! Hopefully this has been helpful for you. If you have any questions, contact us here. If you would like to follow us on LinkedIn, click here.

%%footer%%